Above: The Indigenous XI coach Les Knox and manager Terry Hynch flank the mayor Cathy Redding at Leitch Oval, the venue of this Saturday’s Australia Day T20 cricket match between the Mayor’s XI and the Indigenous XI.

The Australia Day cricket match is back again in 2019 and the two participating teams have named their lineups for the highly-anticipated clash.

This year the match between the Mayor’s XI and the Indigenous XI will be played at Leitch Oval under modified T20 rules.

Mayor’s XI representative Tony Meppem said that the match would start at 9.30am and finish at about 12.30pm.

The annual match was not played last year, and in 2017 rain affected the event so a ‘muck around’ game was played, with no scores recorded and the match declared a draw as a result.

The last full-field game contested between the teams was in 2016 when the Conrad Bolton-skippered Mayor’s XI celebrated victory, just as it had done in 2014 and 2015.

The last time the Indigenous XI claimed bragging rights was in 2013.

Former Indigenous XI captain and now coach Les Knox encouraged everyone to come to watch a match he said would be played in high spirits.

“I think people should come down so they can see how the town is united on Australia Day no matter what the activity,” Knox said.

“It’s always a good game of cricket.”


Mayor’s XI – Hayden Baird, Conrad Bolton, Caine Cunnigham, Alyssa Ford, Caitlan Ford, Blake Jarrett, Luke McDermott, Luke Meppem, Tony Meppem, Sudintha Perera, Nick Tomlinson, (one to be added).

Indigenous XI – Brenton Cochrane, Daniel Hamilton, Ashley Hynch, John Knox, Lewis Knox, Michael Knox, Darren Lamb, Justin Saunders, David Toomey, Josh Trindall, Nathan Trindall, Zack Trindall.