The Narrabri Shire Council officially unveiled the AR Bluett Memorial Award plaque on Tuesday afternoon.

The award has been mounted on a feature wall outside the administration building in Narrabri.

The Council was presented with the AR Bluett Memorial plaque in February with the award acknowledging the transformation the Council have undergone in resurging their reputation and financial position through formulating and achieving key strategic outcomes for the community.

Employees and councillors were in attendance as well as Chief Executive of Local Government NSW Tara McCarthy.

Ms McCarthy spoke about the significance of the AR Bluett Award and spoke highly of the Narrabri Shire.

“When Narrabri Shire Council was announced as the 2018 rural winner of the award, it joined an elite group of councils,” she said.

Less than 75 rural councils and shires have won the award since it began in 1945.

“Only the most demonstrably progressive, hardworking councils take home this coveted prize.

“And that is saying something considering how innovative and hardworking NSW councils are across the state, it is incredibly hard to stand out from such a high-performing pack.”

Narrabri Shire Council Mayor Cathy Redding thanked her fellow Councillors and staff for their tremendous efforts.

“As a Council we have accomplished so much in the past few years,” she said. “From making the conscious decision to reduce Council’s debt levels to working with the community to develop a long-term vision for our Shire, we have been able to invest in assets and infrastructure that will see us realise the community’s vision for our future.”

General Manager, Stewart Todd was honoured to share the occasion with staff, where their dedication to the Narrabri Shire was recognised.

“Winning this award is a real acknowledgement that this Council has risen above the challenges of the past, is progressive and now stands among the best councils in the state,” he said.

“Narrabri Shire Council could not have won this prestigious award without the hard work and commitment of all of our staff that work tirelessly delivering the services that meet the needs of the community.

“This award reflects the great local workforce that we have serving our Shire and it is only fitting to share this occasion with the staff that made this achievement possible.”

The formalities also included the presentation of the Stephen Ward Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship is awarded to an employee of the Council awarded the AR Bluett Memorial Award, to pursue further training and, or, professional development in their relevant role.

The scholarship was awarded to Business Process Officer Maree Bales.

See here for the previous winners of the A R Bluett Memorial award.