The Northwest Speedway Club’s first race night for the 2019-20 season was held on Saturday at the Newtown Park track.

A huge crowd gathered for the event which saw Narrabri AMCA driver Neville Witt take out the second round of the NSW AMCA Nationals Country Cup series.

Northwest Speedway Club’s president Gary Rodd said Witt’s win was a highlight of the night.

“Perhaps the most pleasing for the Narrabri club was to see Neville Witt win,” he said.

“That was really good to see. Neville has been an old campaigner, starting back many years ago.”

Witt was not the only local to finish on the podium on Saturday night.

Trent Keeler had a fantastic race being edged out in a very tight contest.

Northwest Speedway Club president Gary Rodd said the race night was fantastic.

“We had a very good crowd,”

“And with this drought it was a bit of a relief for a lot of people.

“From a spectator’s point of view they would have all gone away and enjoyed the evening.

“It was somewhere to go for a few hours and get away from everything that has been happening.

“It was a big meeting with over 60 cars.”

Rodd told The Courier the racing and cars were of a great standard.

“It was very high-quality racing,” he said.

“The Newcastle street stockers put on a real good show.

“Over 20 cars for the feature which was an awesome sight seeing them go around.

“They all put on spectacular races.”

Rodd thanked his committee for putting a terrific night together.

“A big thank you to my very small committee,” he said.

“From the word go, setting up this race meeting, nothing went right.

“There were so many problems, even on race night as the PA system died.

“It was just one thing after another but somehow, some way, we put it all together.”

The results for the Northwest Speedway Club’s feature races are as follows:

Juniors (12 laps):

First – Jackson Goldie, second – Freddy Jonas, third – Zac Highett.

Outlaws (10 laps):

First – Steven Robson, second – Narrabri’s Trent Keeler, third – Ken Murray.

AMCA (20 laps):

First – Narrabri’s Neville Witt, second – Darren Kime, third – Raymond Kime.

Street Stockers (20 laps):

First – Shane Carlson, second – Jarred Eveleight, third – Brendon Wakeman.

Fender Benders (25 laps):

First – Matthew Cobb, second – Keith Urqhart, third – Jamie Landrigan.

To order photos from this page click here