Wee Waa Bowling Club hosted the 2020 Zone Three Bowls State, Senior and President’s Reserve Pairs Championships sectional play on Saturday and Sunday.

The three finals were all-Narrabri Shire affairs, with one Narrabri team and two Wee Waa teams advancing to the zone playoffs.

Narrabri’s Cameron Yates and Sam Pryor went through in State Pairs, Wee Waa’s Steve Berger and Ray Dixon advanced in the Senior Pairs and Wee Waa’s Hunter and Zack Doring went through in the State President’s Reserve Pairs.

The winning teams will now play at South Tamworth this weekend in the zone finals where winners from all eight sections in each division will compete.

Three teams entered to play State Pairs at Wee Waa on Saturday.

Narrabri duo Preston Clark and Dave Dewar drew the semi-final bye to advance straight through to Saturday afternoon’s final.

On Saturday morning at 9am, Narrabri duo and the 2019 Zone 3 State Pairs champions Yates and Pryor went head-to-head with Wee Waa duo Justin Knight and Kevin Baker. That match was won 19-16 by Yates and Pryor, who went on to win the final 28-19 against Clark and Dewar in an all-Narrabri final.

Five teams entered the Senior Pairs division at Wee Waa.

Wee Waa duos Peter Hennessy and Clancy Hamilton, and Raymond Dixon and Steve Berger, and Narrabri duo Rob Wolters and Tony Redmond all received quarter-final byes to advance straight through to the final four.

The only quarter-final contested saw Narrabri’s Lawrie Gilbert and Bob Ireland go down 22-18 against Wee Waa’s Phil Lawford and Chris Crutcher on Saturday morning.

Lawford and Crutcher went on to win an all-Wee Waa semi-final 15-13 against Hennessy and Hamilton on Saturday afternoon.

In the other semi-final, Berger and Dixon defeated Redman and Wolters 24-13.

The final of that division was contested on Sunday morning and was won 33-10 by Dixon and Berger.

Five teams also entered the State President’s Reserve Pairs.

Wee Waa duos Peter and Dustyn Allen, and Hunter and Zack Doring, and Narrabri team Scott Dewar and Stuart Coleman all drew byes to advance straight through to the semi-finals.

The only quarter-final match contested saw Wee Waa’s Brett Pillar and Sean Anderson go head-to-head with Collarenebri’s John and Kellie Henderson.

The home side won that match 25-23 to set up an all-Wee Waa semi-final against the Allens on Saturday afternoon.

Peter and Dustyn won that match 25-12 to book a final showdown with the Dorings who beat Coleman and Dewar 26-7 in the other Saturday afternoon semi-final.

In that final played on Sunday morning, Hunter and Zack Doring defeated Peter and Dustyn Allen 21-16.

To order photos from this page click here