Narrabri District Cricket Association named its two sides for Sunday’s round three MA Connolly Cup matches earlier today.

Narrabri Gold will play a Collins Park home game for the first time this season when it takes on Quirindi, while Narrabri Blue will play its first game away from home when it travels to challenge Tamworth.

The unbeaten Narrabri Gold will be without opening batsman Lachlan Cameron and opening bowler Dylan Smith, who will both be competing for Central North at the McDonald’s Country Championships tournament on the Central Coast.

Narrabri Blue will also be without an opening batsman and bowler. Skipper Nick Smart, who will line up alongside Cameron and Smith for Central North, is unavailable, as is key bowler Ryan O’Neill.

Luke Meppem will captain Narrabri Blue on Sunday in the absence of Smart, just as he did during a round one win when the side’s captain was unavailable due to injury.

This weekend, Narrabri Gold has the chance to move more than two wins clear of Tamworth or exactly two wins clear of Narrabri Blue with just two rounds remaining.

Following a forfeit win in round one and a round two victory away from home against Peel Valley, Narrabri Gold is currently second on the Namoi Conference ladder on 12 points, trailing Gunnedah (12 points) by net run rate. It is ahead of third-placed Narrabri Blue (seven points) by one win, and fourth-placed Tamworth (six points) by a win and a point.

Narrabri Blue’s third v fourth battle against Tamworth means that Narrabri Gold will extend its points margin against the loser of that match should it get the job done against winless and last-placed Quirindi.

Meanwhile, Narrabri Blue has the chance to move more than a win clear of Tamworth if it beats its round three opponent. If Narrabri Gold and Gunnedah both win, a loss would see Narrabri Blue fall two wins from the top spot with just two rounds remaining.

Teams for Sunday’s matches are as follows:

Narrabri Gold: Chris Sargent (c), Ty Baker, Luke Baker, Cooper Brayshaw, Hamish Duncan, Will Ford, Jay Hall, Cody Kember, Hadley Sevil, Jake Thurston, Jarrett Tough, Matt Tubner.

Narrabri Blue: Luke Meppem (c), Eben Botha, Waldo Botha, Matt Conroy, Jordyn Mowle, Kaleb Mowle, Shane Murphy, Steve Phelps, Tim Shields, Nick Tomlinson, Nathan Trindall, Lachlan Woolford.


To order photos from this page click here