Five major vaccination hubs and 99 regional satellite sites will open progressively across NSW starting from Monday, March 15, as the COVID-19 vaccination rollout stretches across the state.

The vaccination hubs and satellite sites will initially focus on frontline healthcare and border workers, and will eventually be followed by a wider rollout of the vaccine to the general public through the GP network.

The five major hubs and their linked satellite sites will open progressively from March 15 through to April and will be located at Newcastle Hospital, Wollongong Hospital, Wagga Wagga Base Hospital, Coffs Harbour Hospital and Dubbo Hospital

The vaccine will be dispatched from the hubs to the satellite sites.

Premier Gladys Berejiklian said it has been great to see the enormous enthusiasm from those receiving and giving the jabs.

“NSW is on track to achieve its goal of more than 35,000 vaccinations in the first three weeks with thousands of frontline workers already receiving their first doses thanks to excellent work of our NSW Health staff in the three initial hubs,” Ms Berejiklian said.

Deputy Premier John Barilaro said it’s fantastic the rollout of the vaccine will be expanded into regional NSW.

“Regional NSW has endured a myriad of impacts from COVID-19 and with the vaccine now on its way, we will have the confidence and assurance we need to live fully and remain open for business,” Mr Barilaro said.

Health Minister Brad Hazzard said rolling out vaccinations to frontline staff in the regions was the next step to ensuring they are protected against COVID-19.

“Wollongong and Newcastle are particularly significant because we have frontline staff meeting overseas freighters arriving at ports and those staff obviously are at higher risk than others,” Mr Hazzard said.

“An important aspect of the continued rollout is ensuring everyone at risk of COVID-19 has access to vaccination as close to their homes as possible,” Chief Health Officer Dr Chant said.

Newcastle ‘hub and spoke’ locations: Armidale, Barraba MPS, Bingara MPS, Boggabri MPS, Denman MPS, Guyra MPS, Merriwa MPS, Tamworth, Taree, Tingha MPS, Vegetable Creek MPS, Walcha MPS, Wallsend RAC, Warialda MPS and Werris Creek MPS.

To order photos from this page click here