More than 25 players from both Narrabri Polocrosse Club and Galloping Gully Polocrosse Club headed south east for the weekend to compete at Bunnan Polocrosse Club’s two-day charity carnival.

Both Narrabri-based clubs enjoyed success at the carnival and their competitive but friendly rivalry continued when they met one another in a final.

That was the B Open final in which Narrabri’s Brian Honeyman, Greg Schwager, Julia Stuart, Makayla and Felicity Elford and Tom Nolan took on Gully’s Fergus Hunter, Kohl Weir, Geoffrey Hunter, Hayden Grumley and Hugh Hunter who teamed up with Coffs Harbour’s Troy Symes.

Narrabri Polocrosse Club won that decider and together the two clubs enjoyed a combined clean sweep of the individual prizes as Makayla Elford was named best number one, Honeyman was awarded best number two, Grumley picked up best number three and Julia Stuart took out best horse and rider.

Meanwhile, three Gully players finished runners-up in the Women’s C-grade division. They included Jo Hamilton, Emma Campbell and Sandra Williams who played in a combined Gully/Quirindi team which went down to champions Maitland.

The three Gully ladies combined to earn all individual honours on offer in their division, with Hamilton named best number one as well as picking up best horse and rider, Campbell earning best number two and Williams winning best number three.

Fellow Gully women Sarah, Jane and Jessie Melbourne, Sally Hunter, Clare Campbell and Caitlin Greenwood competed in the Women’s A-grade division which was won by Quirindi from runners-up Bunnan.

Both Narrabri clubs also had several junior and subbie players who competed at the carnival which included Gully trio Fletcher Williams, Max Hunter and Campbell Williams (juniors) and Narrabri Polocrosse Club’s Jack Dickinson and Brittney Scwhager (juniors) and Mathew Clifton, Kaitlan Schwager and Nicholas Clifton (subbies).

To order photos from this page click here