Eva Sadler and Dawn Armstrong are the Narrabri Women’s Bowling Club Pairs champions for 2021.

Sadler and Armstrong defeated Rhonda Welchman and Marie Redman 14-8 in Saturday’s final played at Narrabri Sporties’ John McNamara Owen Campey Green.

The eventual champions won the first three ends to establish an early three shots to nothing lead then found themselves ahead 5-3 after eight ends.

Welchman and Redman remained on three points for the next five ends before scoring two shots on the 14th to make the score 14-5 and reduce their deficit to nine.

Welchman and Redman won the last three ends of the match but were only able to score one point on each end which was not enough to earn a come-from-behind win as Sadler and Armstrong claimed a six-shot victory.

Meanwhile, another ladies’ final will be contested at Narrabri Sporties this Thursday when Mary Wheeler and Helen Woodward go head-to-head in the Veteran Singles decider.

Woodward defeated Dawn Armstrong in the second semi-final of that competition last Thursday to progress to this week’s final.

After 20 ends of semi-final action, Woodward led 20-15.

Armstrong then scored eight shots to three across the next five ends to even the score 23-all on the 25th end.

Woodward scored one on the 26th end before Armstrong responded with one on the 27th end to make the score 24-all. On the final end, Armstrong held shot but Woodward had a bowl to play and moved her opponent’s bowl to gain shot and win the game 26-24.

Ladies’ social bowls was also played last Thursday.

In three bowls triples, Gloria Campey, Di Chessells and Cecile defeated Carol Demamiel, Berice Eather and Yvonne Hardman 22-7 and Carolynne Tomlinson, Ronnie Dewar and Rhonda Welchman downed Marie Redman, Glennis Godden and Lyn Tuckey 17-14.

In three bowls pairs, Olwyn Campey and Beryl Regan were beaten 20-15 by Jan Etheridge and Kay Carolan.

Fixtures for this week are as follows:

The final of the Veteran Singles competition will be played on Thursday, July 22 – Mary Wheeler v Helen Woodward (marker – Ronnie Dewar).

Club Triples will commence on Saturday, July 24:
Carolynne Tomlinson, Jan Etheridge and Berice Eather v Marie Redman, Yvonne Hardman and Lyn Tuckey; Trish Allison, Heather Caton and Cecile v Lyn Wedesweiler, Cindy Neil and Rhonda Welchman; Helen Woodward, Ronnie Dewar and Sue Solomon v Glennis Godden, Di Chessells and Eva Sadler.

To order photos from this page click here