Lorraine Scott will go in search of a fifth major title in the 2021 season after she recently progressed to the Narrabri Women’s Bowling Club’s Consistency Singles final.

Scott defeated Lyn Wedesweiler 152-126 in a semi-final showdown on Saturday to advance to the final, which will be played on Saturday, October 23.

She will take on Mary Wheeler in that match after Wheeler accounted for Veronica Dewar 153-128 in their semi-final match last Thursday.

Whoever wins that final will be the first Consistency Singles champion since Sue Solomon won the final back in 2019.

There was no Consistency Singles competition played last year after the season was affected by the COVID-19 pandemic.

Scott, who outscored the defending champion Solomon 153-135 in their quarter-final match last month, was crowned champion of the annual competition for three years running from 2016 to 2018.

It is a format she holds close to her heart, with the Narrabri ladies’ Consistency Singles champion winning the Millie Baguley memorial trophy which is named after Scott’s late mother.

Scott has been in fine form this season. She was crowned champion of the Region 3 Singles competition and the Namoi District Women’s Bowling Association’s 2021 Open Singles and Pairs competitions, as well as winning the Narrabri Women’s Bowling Club’s Major Singles title.

Winning all three of those Singles competitions means that Scott will not only compete at the 2021 State Titles, which have been rescheduled for next year, but she is also undefeated in all Singles action this year.

Meanwhile, local lady bowlers were in action on Thursday and Saturday in the Narrabri Women’s Bowling Club’s 2021 Minor Singles competition.

On Thursday, Glennis Godden beat Rhonda Fitzgerald 25-15, Heather Caton defeated Jan Etheridge 25-19, and Cecile downed Lyn Tuckey 26-13.

On Saturday, Cindy Neil received a forfeit from Cecile after the duo played 15 ends.

Social bowls was also played on Thursday. Berice Eather played swinging lead and with Carol Demamiel and Kay Carolan defeated Carolyn Tomlinson and Sue Solomon 14-11.

One of the two Minor Singles semi-finals will be played on Thursday, October 14, which will see Heather Caton take on Glennis Godden (marker – Lyn Tuckey).

Two President Pairs matches will be played on Saturday, October 16, which will see Ronnie Dewar and Kay Carolan challenge Berice Eather and Cindy Neil, and Sylvia Briggs and Janet Coleman meet Rhonda Fitzgerald and Lyn Tuckey.

To order photos from this page click here