Bowls continued its post-lockdown resurgence at Waa Waa Bowling Club on the weekend as an abundance of members took to the pristine Norman Sweetman Green where the finalists for the 2021 Club Fours competition emerged.

Two knockout quarter-final games were contested on Saturday, followed by the two semi-finals on Sunday.

The two teams which will now meet in the final are Kyne Allen, Ross Smith, Phil Lawford and Bruce Cowan, and Brock Allen, Charlie Thomson, Gary Nolan and Brett Pillar.

Allen, Smith, Lawford and Cowan were victorious by just one shot in a nail-biting quarter-final match on Saturday against Charlie Thomson, Sean Anderson, Brett Pillar and Steve Berger.

The final score in that contest was 21-20 to Cowan’s side.

It trailed eight shots to zero early in the match after Berger’s team claimed the first five ends, however, Cowan’s team won six of the next eight ends to lead 12-11 after 13 ends.

The score was locked up at 15 apiece after 17 ends before Berger’s team outscored its opposition five shots to four across the next three ends to take a one-shot lead into the 21st.

Cowan’s team then managed to maintain its composure as it scored a two on that final end to claim victory.

In a lower-scoring affair, the other quarter-final match was won 18-11 by Trevor Keys, Peter Hennessy, Dustyn Allen and Clancy Hamilton who beat Brock Allen, Jay Hall, Toby Reynolds and Justin Knight in the seven-shot victory.

The score was 6-all after 10 ends of play, before Hamilton’s team was able to claim the next three ends by a combined six shots to establish a 12-6 lead.

Knight’s team could only manage to reduce the deficit to three points when the score was 13-10 after 16 ends.

However, Hamilton’s team won four of the last five ends a combined five shots to one to seal the victory.

On Sunday, Allen, Smith, Lawford and Cowan downed Keys, Hennessy, Allen and Hamilton 22-14 to claim one of the two spots in the final.

Cowan’s team claimed the first three ends to establish a seven shots to nothing lead, before Hamilton’s team scored five shots across the following two ends to reduce its deficit to two.

Cowan’s team led 12-10 after nine ends, before it raced away to an eight-shot win after winning seven of the last 10 ends a combined 10 shots to four.

In the other semi-final, Allen, Thompson, Nolan and Pillar edged out Graham Amos, Kay Dewson, Todd Cowan and Peter Doring 18-17 following a remarkable finish which saw the qualifiers snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.

Allen, Thompson, Nolan and Pillar trailed 17-14 after 20 ends but scored the four shots they required for the win on the 21st and final end to get the job done.

The lead changed several times throughout that contest as neither side lead by more than three shots at any stage.

The action will continue at Wee Waa Bowling Club this weekend, with nine more games scheduled to be played across Saturday and Sunday.

On Saturday morning at 9.30am, the quarter-finals of the Over-60s Singles competition will be contested.

Clancy Hamilton will take on Steve Berger (marker – Gary Nolan), Phil Lawford will go head-to-head with Trevor Keys (marker – Peter Hennessy), Ross Smith will meet Chris Crutcher (marker – Bruce Cowan) and Charlie Thompson will play against Graham Amos (marker – Kyne Allen).

The winners of those four matches will progress through to the semi-finals which will be contested later that day from 1pm.

On Sunday, three Consistency Singles games will be played from 9.30am.  Ross Smith will challenge Graham Amos (marker – Charlie Thompson), Dustyn Allen meets Sean Anderson (marker – Gary Nolan), and Phil Lawford will take on Peter Hennessy (marker – Steve Berger).

To order photos from this page click here