Narrabri Sporties hosted its men’s Consistency Singles final at the John McNamara Owen Campey Green on Saturday which saw David Dewar claim the title for 2021.

The defending champion defeated Larry Scott 150-133 in a rain-affected contest, almost a year to the day since he claimed the 2020 decider 153-147 against Tony Redman.

Dewar led Saturday’s match from start to finish after he outscored Scott seven shots to three on the first end.

The eventual champion led by as many as 30 points during the match. He bowled his way to a 61-31 lead after 10 ends, then led 91-61 after 16.

Scott rallied across the next 10 ends to outscore Dewar 60 shots to 41 to reduce his deficit to 11 when the scoreboard read 132-121 to Dewar after 26 ends.

The two bowlers scored five shots each on both of the following two ends which made the score 142-131 and meant that Dewar required just eight shots for victory. He was able to score all of those on the 29th end when he outscored Scott eight shots to two to claim a 150-133 victory.

Dewar won 14 of those 29 ends, while five of them were tied and Scott claimed 10 himself.

No men’s competition games have been scheduled to be contested this weekend at Narrabri Sporties.

Meanwhile, the third round of the Narrabri Women’s Bowling Club’s Patron’s Trophy competition for 2021 was played last Thursday.

There were four matches played on the day.

Carol Tomlinson and Eva Sadler downed Olwyn Campey and Marie Redman 15-7, which gave Tomlinson and Sadler 21 points.

Carol Demamiel, Ronnie Dewar, Janet Coleman defeated Gloria Campey, Trish Allison, Cecile 15-14, after which Coleman’s team received 17 points and Cecile’s team earned 14.

Jan Etheridge, Di Chessells, Lisa Pillar beat Glennis Godden, Mary Wheeler and Rhonda Fitzgerald, 13-11, which gave Pillar’s team 17 points and Wheeler’s team 14.

Berice Eather played swinging lead and with Kay Carolan, Dawn Armstrong defeated Heather Caton, Lyn Tuckey 17-11. Armstrong’s team received 19 points and Tuckey’s team 12.

Carol Tomlinson currently leads the points tally after three rounds of play with 59 points, followed by Gloria Campey and Mary Wheeler both on 51 points and Carol Demamiel on 50 points.

The fourth and final round will be contested this Thursday.

To order photos from this page click here