Narrabri cricketers Elsie Ford (18) and Alyssa Ford (19) have both been selected to represent Central North Cricket zone at the 2021-22 NSW Under-19 Women’s Country Championships early next year.

The zone announced its 12-player team on Thursday which included the Narrabri duo, who share a last name but are not related, and have been a part of the Central North setup for many years.

Both were selected to compete for Central North at last season’s event, however, only Elsie was able to take part in the Northern Pool matches at Tamworth after Alyssa was forced to withdraw due to a knee injury that sidelined her from cricket for almost two seasons.

Alyssa told The Courier she was fit and ready to fire for Central North at the coming three-day tournament, which will be contested at Raymond Terrace from Wednesday, January 5, to Friday, January 7.

Central North’s pursuit of the 2021-22 Carolyn ‘Russian’ Sheehan Shield will begin with a 40-over match against Riverina on day one.

It will then play T20 matches against North Coastal and Greater Illawarra on day two before coming up against defending champions ACT/Southern Districts during the morning on day three.

The champion will be crowned that afternoon when the finals are played.

Elsie and Alyssa join fellow Narrabri cricketers Sid Harvey and Bernard O’Connor as 2021-22 season Central North representatives.

Earlier this month, Sid and Bernard were named in the under-16s boys’ team to take part in the Bradman Cup at Sawtell on Saturday and Sunday, December 4 and 5, then at a four-day carnival in Lake Macquarie, which will be played from Tuesday, January 4, to Friday, January 7.

Nominations for the zone’s open men’s team to compete at the NSW McDonald’s Country Championships on the Central Coast from Friday,
January 28, to Sunday, January 30, closed on Sunday.

The full Central North Cricket zone under-19s women’s side is as follows: Deni Baker, Siann Carman, Tara Craig, Georgia Davidson, Jess Davidson, Alyssa Ford, Elsie Ford, Claire McGuirk , Josephine Pearce, Vanessa Simpson, Tylah Swinton and Matiese Wadwell.

Peter Graham will coach the side, while Luke Knight is the assistant coach.

To order photos from this page click here