Narrabri golfer Luke Flood is the 2020 Wee Waa Golf Open champion after shooting a three-over-par 75 winning round at Sunday’s annual event.

Playing in the best field the event has had in several years, Flood was one of 59 golfers in action at the day and he won the championship by three shots from A-grade gross runner-up, Wee Waa’s Steve Jones.

Wee Waa Golf Club’s Col Stone told The Courier that a strong field of golfers enjoyed the day at the club’s flourishing course.

“A great day was had by all,” Stone said.

“There was about 60 golfers from Wee Waa, Narrabri, Coonabarabran, Moree, Bingara and Warialda.

“They commented on how good it was to play off grass fairways.

“The course is looking magnificent, but there is still a long way to go.

“On that note a big thanks to the large number of volunteers that came out to prepare the course, it was a huge turn up for that.

“Also a thank you to the ladies for bringing the salads along and preparing the meals which were magnificent.”

Winners and runners-up on the day are as follows:

Open champion – Luke Flood (Narrabri), B-grade gross winner – John Galagher (Wee Waa), C-grade gross winner – Matt Swansbra (Wee Waa), A-grade net winner – Steve Gleeson (Wee Waa), B-grade net winner – Richard Scutt (Bingara), C-grade net winner – Gerry Amer (Bingara), A-grade gross runner-up – Steve Jones (Wee Waa), B-grade gross runner-up – Michael Seery (Moree), A-grade gross runner-up – Mark McGowan (Bingara), A-grade net runner-up – Bill Lang (Wee Waa), B-grade net runner-up – Chris Hartnett (Wee Waa), C-grade net runner-up – Ash Humphries (Wee Waa), front nine winner – Jurgen Haggermann (Coonabarabran), back nine winner – Andrew Milford (Wee Waa).

To order photos from this page click here