Narrabri Shire Council has announced its inaugural Youth Council, a group dedicated to being a voice for young people in the shire.

Elected members discussed applications at Tuesday afternoon’s council meeting in confidentiality.

Temika Toole, Mackenzie Jones, Tim Mirtschin, Jordan Kay, Charlotte Penberthy, Andrea Brown, Eliza Dampney, Caitlyn Coutts-Smith, Poppy Smith and Gemma Ferguson have been appointed as the town’s first Youth Council and Narrabri Shire mayor Ron Campbell said they will represent and promote the needs of local youth.

“The Narrabri Shire Youth Council has been established to provide a platform for input into youth-focused programs and the opportunity for professional leadership and development,” Cr Campbell said.

The role of the Narrabri Shire Youth Council will be to identify gaps in services, work with the Youth Interagency to run annual Youth Week activities and provide feedback on ways to enhance engagement and address youth issues across the Narrabri Shire local government area through regular contact with council staff.

“The Youth Council’s objectives are to provide advice and input into local youth-related initiatives, to inspire and motivate change and to provide advice and assistance to Narrabri Shire Council on priorities that are important to them,” Cr Campbell said.

“The Youth Council members are socially conscious young leaders who have been appointed to represent the youth of this community. We are looking forward to this collaboration and what it can achieve.”

The Narrabri Shire Youth Council will elect both a youth mayor and deputy youth mayor and meet on a monthly basis.

They will receive mentoring from a council staff member and serve for a two-year term.

See more like this:

To order photos from this page click here