The 2021 shooting season is now done and dusted for Narrabri Clay Target Club following its annual Christmas shoot on Sunday.

There were 35 shooters who took part as the local club ended the year in style.

The event also saw the NCTC’s 2021 club champion crowned.

A two-way tie eventuated from the year’s club championship events, so Sunday’s shoot was used to decide who would become club champion.

The title was awarded to the local shooter who shot most consistently across all of the championship events conducted throughout the year.

Janet Barden was eventually named the club champion on Sunday, with Hugh Faris finishing as runners up.

The Christmas shoot was sponsored by Daracon Group and supported by Calibre Country Yeti products for prizes.

Conditions were very warm to hot, with a gusting northerly and cloudy periods.

All events were continental and they certainly provided their fair share of challenges for some.

There was plenty of banter and a lot of ribbing in some squads between members and visitors as a good time was had by all.

Results are as follows:

Event one – Daracon 25-Target Single Barrel off 11m:
AA-grade: First – Morgan Bell, second – Brad Henshall, third – Guy Mepham.
A-grade: First – Brett Farlow, second – Andrew Martin, third – David Lemmon.
B-grade: First – Lindsay Taylor, second – Jake Chittick, third – Julie-Ann Sainsbury.
C-grade: First – Jessica Haverhoek, second – Brett Chittick, third – Toby Bell.

Event two – Daracon 25-Target Graded Handicap:
First – Brian Kneipp, second – John Sleightholme, third – Brad Henshall, fourth – Ian Schwartz, fifth – Julie-Ann Sainsbury, sixth – Ivan Bettens, seventh – Jake Chittick, eighth – Andrew Martin, ninth – David Schultz, 10th – Jessica Haverhoek, 11th – Lloyd Finlay, 12th – Janet Barden.

Event three – Daracon 25-Target Mixed Metres Double Barrel Continental:
AA-grade: First – Blake Schwartz, second – Brad Henshall, third – Brian Kneipp.
A-grade: First – Mark Barden, second – David Lemmon, third – Graham Baylis.
B-grade: First – Julie-Ann Sainsbury, second – Janet Barden, third – Jake Chittick.
C-grade: First – Toby Bell, second – Jessica Haverhoek, third – Ivan Bettens.

Event four – Daracon 30-Target Continental Medley:
AA-grade: First – Brad Henshall, second – Brian Kneipp, third – William Abbott.
A-grade: First – David Lemmon, second – Ian Schwartz, third – Andrew Martin.
B-grade: First – Jake Chittick, second – Julie-Ann Sainsbury, third – Jayson Haverhoek.
C-grade: First – Lloyd Finlay, second – Brett Chittick, third – Gerald McInnes.

The club thanked its sponsors and all the many individuals who helped on the day to make it a success, especially those in the kitchen and trap houses.

The club has enjoyed a year of growth, change and improvements and like many other clubs, felt the effect of COVID-19 restrictions.

The committee wished everyone a Merry Christmas and a safe and happy new year and said it hoped 2022 allows shooters to travel more and support other clubs by attending their events and shoots as much as they can.

To order photos from this page click here