Debbie Gleeson is Narrabri Women’s Bowling Club’s Singles champion for the 2022 season following a five-shot win against Cindy Neil on Saturday.

Gleeson defeated Neil 25 points to 20 across 31 ends in an entertaining game that brought the competition to a close.

Gleeson opened the scoring to take a 1-0 lead on the first end before Neil won the next four ends to establish a 5-1 lead. Gleeson then reduced her deficit to one shot after scoring three shots on the next two ends, but Neil then went on another four-end run to make the score 11-4 at the completion of the 11th end.

Gleeson claimed three of the next four ends to trail 12-11, and she later established a 14-13 lead with a two on the 18th end.

She would never trail again during the match as the duo produced what was an exciting finish.

She led 16-15 after 22 ends of play before she scored four shots across the next two ends to go ahead 20-15. Neil then won five of the next six ends to make the score 22-20 after 30 ends of play in the first-to-25 match.

Gleeson scored the winning shot on the 31st end when she scored a three to claim the 2022 championship.

The duo have been two of the club’s form bowlers in recent years.

Neil went down in the 2020 decider against Lorraine Scott, and then Gleeson was downed by Scott in the 2021 final.

Last year, Neil was the club’s Minor Singles champion and was also part of the Triples and Fours championship-
winning teams.

She also won the Mixed Pairs title at district level, while Gleeson won the ladies’ Open Pairs competition at district level.

Meanwhile, ladies social bowls was played last Thursday. Janice Foxe played swinging lead to win 15-12 with Ronnie Dewar and Lyn Tuckey against Leslie Anderson and Kay Carolan. The other match saw Berice Eather and Cecile outscore Di Chessells and Yvonne Hardman 17-13.

Narrabri Bowling Club’s 2022 men’s season will get underway on Saturday with matches in the Veteran Singles and Minor Singles competitions.

Fixtures are as follows:

Veteran Singles at 9.30am – L Ryan v I Macmillan (marker – P Crutcher); W Rosewarn v D Briggs (marker – B Tomlinson); S Daskey v R Wolters (marker – G Rose); L Scott v C Armstrong (marker – L Gilbert).

Minor Singles at 1pm – T Dean v C Armstrong (marker – T Wilson); R Wolters v B Tomlinson (marker – D Slack-Smith).

Three matches have been scheduled for Saturday, May 14:

Minor Singles at 9.30am – D Slack-Smith v D Field (marker – C Armstrong); D Briggs v T Wilson (marker – T Dean).

Men’s Fours at 1pm – D Briggs, D Field, L Gilbert and D Dewar v B Cantrill, T Dean, L Ryan and N Walford.

To order photos from this page click here