Local touch footy side Agies brought Narrabri Touch’s mixed competition’s minor premiership race to a close on Monday with a 12th consecutive win in round 12 of the 2022 campaign.

The ladder leaders took on the sixth-placed side TRTW at Hogan Oval and scored a hard-fought 6-5 victory to ensure that it could not be overtaken at the top of the ladder as it finished the evening two wins clear at the top, with just one round remaining before the 14 teams are split into grades.

In those 12 rounds, Agies has scored 67 tries and conceded 28 in 10 games.

It prevailed by forfeits in the other four matches, which added 20 tries to bring its for and against to 87 and 28. That has left it with a competition best for and against difference of 58.

Agies went into Monday’s round 12 match two wins clear of Sprayerbarn Spinouts, Tradies and Ladies and Hammer Time. Those three sides had all won nine games this season, but only two finished the night with 10 wins.

One of those was Sprayerbarn Spinouts, which defeated eighth-placed Lumberjacks (and Jills) 6-3, and the other was Hammer Time, which outscored the 13th-placed RSL Guys and Gals 10-3.

Hammer Time’s victory saw it jump from fourth place into third and overtake Tradies and Ladies, a side that slipped to fifth after also being overtaken by Tapscott Pumpers, the team that defeated them 7-3 in round 12 on Monday.

Those were the only ladder changes, as the teams ranked sixth to 14th all remained in the same positions that they entered the 12th round of the campaign.

Tenth-placed Hounddogs beat 12th-placed Witty Wizards 7-3, seventh-placed Win Or Booze beat last-placed Kerrigans 10-2, and the ninth-placed side Who’s Shout edged out the 11th-placed team Cougars 8-6.

The draw and referee appointments for round 13 on Monday, May 16, are as follows:

6pm: Desk duty – Joan O’Neill; field one – Tradies and Ladies v TRTW (referees – Wayne Nott and Luke Flood); field two – Cougars v Tapscott Pumpers (referees – Scott Rickard and Angela Young); field three – Agies v Kerrigans (referees – Linton Grumley and Cassidy Staines); field four – Sprayerbarn Spinouts v Hounddogs (referees – Jess O’Neil and James Albert).

6.35pm: Desk duty – Emily McFetridge; field one – Who’s Shout v Narrabri RSL Guys and Gals (referees – Peter Quirk and Emma John); field two – Win or Booze v Witty Wizards (referees – Terry Hynch and Jon-Maree Baker); field three – Lumberjacks (and Jills) v Hammer Time (referees – Jydon Hill and Todd McFetridge).

To order photos from this page click here