Rotary Club of Narrabri members celebrated a year of success at its annual changeover dinner on Saturday night.

Outgoing president Darrell Tiemens told members and guests of the club’s many achievements during his year at the organisation’s helm.

Among the highlights were the successful Pink Up Namoi campaign auspiced by Rotary, the club’s 75th anniversary dinner and book, a record-breaking Maitland Street book sale, the commencement of refurbishment works at the Selina Street shelter area and the sponsorship of the Rotaract Club of Narrabri.

The club has also taken on the running of the Narrabri markets, donated to the club by Tricia Hadley.

During the year, Mr Tiemens inducted five new members to the club – Karen Kirkby, David Pierce, Kat Denniss, Sue Duncan and Helen Dugdale.

“Without exception I have been supported by an enthusiastic board. They have all worked with tireless dedication to make this year a success,” Mr Tiemens told the gathering.

In his final acts as president, Mr Tiemens made several presentations to club members.

Karen Kirkby was honoured with a Paul Harris Fellowship for her tireless efforts in organising the Pink Up Namoi campaign.

Mr Tiemens announced John Ridley as this year’s Rotarian of the Year.

He described Mr Ridley as someone who did not like to be in the limelight, however, was worthy of the honour given his ongoing assistance to the club at many fundraisers and events.

The club’s Dark Horse award was presented to the longest-serving member, Barry Keys.

Mr Tiemens acknowledged Mr Keys for quietly continuing to support Rotary projects after his many decades of ongoing service.

Following the presentation of awards and the delivery of his report, Mr Tiemens presented the club regalia to incoming president Dylan Smith.

Mr Smith outlined the club’s year ahead which he hopes to focus on continuing membership development and growth as well as an emphasis on community.

He introduced his board members – Mr Tiemens (immediate past president), Dr Kirkby (vice president), Liz Campbell (secretary), Julie Herbert (treasurer) and directors Tricia Hadley, Phil Norrie, Grahame Herbert, Bruce Pyke and Kim Rozendaal.

To order photos from this page click here