Narrabri golfer Troy Nott is the 2021 Wee Waa Open champion after winning the Wee Waa Golf Club’s annual 18-hole individual stroke event on Sunday.

Nott scored a one-over-par 73 off the stick which saw him finish even with Wee Waa golfer Ben Russell.

Those two then played off for the win.

Both men parred the first hole of the playoff, with Nott missing a six-foot putt for a birdie and the win.

On the second hole, Nott shot a par while Russell missed his par putt which meant that the Narrabri golfer was crowned champion.

Nott, a one-time Narrabri Golf Club Open champion, was pleased to secure his first Wee Waa title with what was his best score at that course in about six games.

He was also full of praise for the Wee Waa club and community.

“Wee Waa in general always come together and make stuff happen,” Nott said.

“About 18 months ago when we were out there, they were handing out little square artificial turf mats because there wasn’t a blade of grass on the course.

“Now, 18 months down the track, she’s beautiful out there. Rain has obviously had a lot to do with it but you still need volunteers to mow it and get it in some sort of playing order and they’ve done that, it’s the best I’ve seen the Wee Waa course in years.

“Everything down there is run by volunteers and it’s not just the committee members, it’s the community in general which get down and lend a hand which is great.

“I think Narrabri in general could learn a lot from Wee Waa, how they always come together to make stuff happen”

Nott said that he enjoyed the day.

“I don’t get real excited about winning, I just enjoy a day out with the boys,” he said.

“I went around with Wade and Paul Foster and Owen Warren, we had a great time.

“I’d like to give credit to my caddie Wade Foster who really helped me during the playoff holes, I couldn’t have done it without him.”

There were 64 golfers in action at Sunday’s event.

Results are as follows:

Open champion – Troy Nott.

Gross winner – Ben Russell, gross runner-up – Keith Flood, nett winner – Max Smith, nett runner-up – Paul Foster.

Gross winner – Matt Swansbra, gross runner-up – Kenny Anderson, nett winner – Max Smith Junior, nett runner-up – Adam Hatton.

Gross winner – Neville Williams, gross runner-up – Ron Henry, nett winner – Jason Smith, nett runner-up – Will Lavis.

Longest drives:
A-grade – Scott Smith, B-grade – Max Smith Junior C-grade – Will Lavis.

Nearest to pins:
Ninth – Will Turner, 5-14th – Luke Flood, 15th – Tom Avery.

To order photos from this page click here