The 2020-21 season is well and truly in full swing at Wee Waa Bowling Club, with the men’s Singles season now two weeks old.

The championships got underway on Saturday, March 13, with four A-grade Singles matches.

Kyne Allen cruised past Graham Amos 31-4, Peter Hennessy edged out Gary Nolan 32-29, Clancy Hamilton beat Kerry Sadler 33-14 and Todd Cowan defeated Phil Lawford 31-13.

On Sunday, March 21, three more A-grade Singles matches were played as well as the first game in the B-grade Singles.

In that B-grade game, Cody Booby beat Ross Smith 31-13.

The A-grade games saw Sean Anderson edge out Peter Hennessy 31-30, David Hogan down Charlie Thompson 31-21 and Brett Pillar beat Clancy Hamilton 31-24.

Eight more matches are scheduled to be played this weekend.

In A-grade Singles matches on Saturday, Cody Booby will take on Dustyn Allen and Jay Hall meets Chris Crutcher. In B-grade Singles games, Peter Allen will challenge Graham Amos and Peter Hennessy will play against Kyne Allen. Those matches have been set down for 9.30am.

Four A-grade Singles matches will be played on Sunday at 9.30am. Toby Reynolds will take on Kyne Allen, Steve Berger will play against David Hogan, Justin Knight will play the winner of Saturday’s match between Booby and Allen, and Wayne Booby will play the winner of Saturday’s game between Hall and Crutcher.

Meanwhile, Wee Waa was unable to qualify for its grade four sectional final in the 2021 Zone 3 Bowls pennants competition.

Wee Waa hosted Inverell RSM on Saturday and went down 63-55 on the masterboard.

The hosts picked up one competition point after Jay Hall, Toby Reynolds, Wayne Booby and Bruce Cowan won their rink 20-15.

However, Cody Booby, Phil Lawford, Todd Cowan and Justin Knight lost theirs 27-19 while Clancy Hamilton, Chris Crutcher, Kevin Baker and Steve Berger went down in theirs 21-16.

Wee Waa finished third on its sectional ladder with 11 points behind winners Inverell RSM (28 points) and runners-up Moree (21 points).

Inverell will now take on section two winners Manilla and section three winners North Tamworth in a sectional final round robin this weekend.

To order photos from this page click here